Hello :)

Kurtis

Location (City and/or State)
Newfoundland, Canada
Ello!

My name is Kurtis, I am a highschool student, I have many mammalian pets though I am currently interesting in caring for a tortoise (note I'll be saying 'caring for' instead of 'pet' as I don't believe in 'owning' animals). I am not the merest bit familiar with reptiles at all, though I am also the one who prepares for everything- so I plan on researching well before I get my tort. (Hence why I joined this forum :)!).

Now for some information, as it may be useful... I live in Newfoundland, Canada. It is fairly cold here throughout the year we get moderate wheather in spring/summer (approx. 17C). I plan on caring for a hermanns tortoise, and plan on keeping it indoors. I'd love feedback and information on what to do to prepare for buying a turtle, all the equipment etc.

Well, thanks for your time reading this and I hope I get to meet some new people on these forums, if anyone has anything to share about their experiences with tortoises or anything at all to help me get introduced into how it's like to have a tortoise as a pet is appreciate it a lot. I've guessed I've blabered on enough, I should probably stop here- (can't you tell I am one who prepares excessively Hee hee)

Yelloweyed

5 Year Member
SoCal California
Welcome!!!

Planning for a tort is a very smart decision. You can get plants/food, lighting and heat all settled.

Linhdan Nguyen

Maryland
Welcome :) is there a type of tortoise you would like to care for? Or are you up for suggestions? Also, tortoises require a lot if space to roam, a secure outdoor enclosure, if the weather is warm enough, would be ideal. some of us live in mostly cold weather regions so a large indoor enclosure is needed instead.

Kurtis

Newfoundland, Canada