Hello - Sulcata newbie with lots of questions

Tea

Hello everyone!

I'm a newbie Sulcata owner from Eastern, PA. I bought my Sulcata as a hatchling back in 2009 and have had many health issues on/off since. I'm not sure the sex of my Sulcata but I had dubbed "him" Simon. He's been in and out of vet offices due to chronic respiratory infections. I currently have him in an indoor enclosure but take him out once summer temps allow. I've noticed issues with his shell and am planning to take him back to the vet but was wondering if anyone had any suggestions as to what is going on. I'm suspicious of fungal infection. I also noted one of his spurs seems to be peeling off but another seems to be underneath it, I'm not sure if this is normal or not. I've tried to curb his pyramiding but I know it is getting out of hand.

His diet is mainly timothy hay in the winter, grass and dandelions in the summer. The vet had said to supplement with some collard greens in the winter, which I have also done. I also leave cuttle bones in which he chews on ravenously.

His indoor enclosure consists of 150 W basking light, 50 W halogen bulb, and a UV bulb. I have a hot humidifier I let run on occasion for him. I recently changed his substrate from a coco coir to a no additive topsoil due to difficulty maintaining moisture. I spritz the substrate daily in an attempt to keep dryness at bay.

Any help or insight would be much appreciated!

-Tea

Attachments

• IMG_20140526_171034.jpg
    IMG_20140526_171034.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 52
  • IMG_20140526_171108.jpg
    IMG_20140526_171108.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 50
  • IMG_20140526_171118.jpg
    IMG_20140526_171118.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 49
  • IMG_20140526_171229.jpg
    IMG_20140526_171229.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 49
  • IMG_20140526_171314.jpg
    IMG_20140526_171314.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 44
  • IMG_20140526_171355.jpg
    IMG_20140526_171355.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 46
  • Indoor.jpg
    Indoor.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 39

NicoleB26