Hello - New & in need of help

G_Vincey

Location (City and/or State)
London
Hi all...

My name is Gary and I am new to the world of Tortoises..

I have recently acquired a lovely little Russian tortoise called 'Theo'.. Although, I have some concerns about him and would like some experienced opinions..

So my set up is..
A tortoise table, measuring 77 cm x 42 cm x 12 cm

The substrate is as follows:
3/4 of the table - A mix of 1 bag of soil and 1-2 bag of sand, both bought from pets at home
1/4 of the table - tortoise grass like pellets bought from a reptile store..

An Arcadia d3 mini uv basking lamp (mercury combination one) with ceramic holder.. 27cm from substrate at one end of the table..

and then water dish, food dish, soaking dish and half a coconut to rest under.. I also have some calcium powder and tortoise food pellets, little pink ones (different to the substrate pellets mentioned earlier) and I have just ordered some cuttlefish bone..

So, here's the basics..
I bought my tortoise online and was told that he came with the table and necessary lighting etc.. However, after travelling a very long way to get him, I find out that there is no lamp and only a red (normal house looking bulb), also I was not given a choice as to what tortoise I could have, I was simply handed him, so he could be the runt of the litter for all I know, needless to say, I still love him..
But, I got him on a Friday, and because of the lighting situation, it was too late to get one, so I used the red bulb that came with him in a normal bedside lamp until the pet store was open...
So I went to the pet store, got the bulb and ceramic holder, went home to install it and the filament in the bulb was broken.. I had to wait til Monday when the new deliveries had arrived as I had purchased the last one.. Therefore, Theo was without uv light for at least 4 days and I don't know what conditions he was living in before hand...
During these four days, he didn't eat and was hardly moving..