Hello, my baby Mee's and I

XDX

Hello,

I have had several types of reptiles and amphibians as pets for most of my life, and currently have enough critters in my house to own a small pet store or breeding business (long story). Just prior to the arrival of most of these critters (I had a few here already), I felt inspired to get into tortoises, and bought two 2015 Burmese brown tortoises, Manouria emys emys. I was told they were incubated at different temperatures and that they should be male and female, but I guess at this age (~1yr) it's hard to tell for sure. Regardless, they're here with me for a long one, and they're pretty awesome! As I said, there are now lots of other critters in the house as well, with which I have more experience and supplies, etc. I am completely new to the whole Chelonian way, so I'd like to make sure I give these two the proper attention to all their needs.

We are in western Oregon; I have these little guys indoors for now in a re-purposed counter section laid on its side (on a table), measuring ~6'*3'*1.5' (180*90*45cm). In the summertime, they will have a cool outdoor spot where they can hang out while I do garden work (I love being in the garden, got lots of plants!) In about a year, I will be moving a little further south, and will have a nice indoor/outdoor setup for them for the next several years. I'll post soon over in the Burmese black/brown section with pictures and more details!

Please forgive any mistakes I may have made already, and hopefully with the help from members here, I shouldn't make many more! I care a lot, and I try to do as much research as possible, though I am human. I am here for advice so that I can learn how to keep these torts as happy as possible, and to geek out with some folks about them all!

Thanks!

~XDX~

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Welcome to the Forum!

M

Maggie Cummings