Hello from Southeast Pennsylvania

ScStange891

Location (City and/or State)
Pennsylvania
Hi, All! My name is Scott, and I've been surfing the forums religiously for the past several months doing research to (try to) prepare myself to house my own Tort.

About a month ago, I received a baby Russian Tortoise from Tyler Stewart of Tortoisesupply.

This is Tortellini (Lini for short), and from the day I got it, it's been quite an enjoyable adventure. Lini has been inquisitive and active since the day I got it. While Tyler said it's not unusual for them to ignore food on the first say, mine was chowing away and getting into mischief from day 1. It actually ended up on it's back from trying to climb a half-log hut on its first day, but it was able to correct itself in less than 5 minutes, so I definitely got a spunky one.

Right now my current care is as follows:

-Enclosure type: ZooMed Tortoise House. The tort will outgrow it in a few years, but it seems to have ample space for a baby.

-Entire enclosure kept around room temperature (mid 70s) with a cooler (high 60s to low 70s) hide box (part of the design of the enclosure). It has not gone into the hide area yet in my one month of having it though.

-Substrate is current coco coir (Eco Earth, which I guess is slightly different?)

-Basking spot is in the form of a hard plastic deck (designed for aquatic turtles). I had removed it for risk of the tort flipping, but it seemed to be upset at that, because it loves to burrow under it as a hide, to climb around on it and bask, and to use the corner posts as head support/to scratch while basking.

-Basking spot temp is between 92-96 degrees Farenheit. I use a Zoomed Reptisun UVA/UVB long bulb, and a 100W heat lamp in order to keep the temperatures as such.