alejzp

Location (City and/or State)
San José, Costa Rica
hello everybody, my name is Alejandro and I am from Costa Rica, and I’m very new to owning a Sulcata... since the moment I knew about them I fell in love with the species but it was impossible to find/get them in my country until now and I am nuts about it...

I’ve had sooo many questions and Google has led me to this forum most of the time so it was about time to join and be a member... this is my first post so please bear with me if I do anything wrong...

My baby is shy 3 months old (born on October 6th) and I am trying to swallow as much info as possible...

My main question at this point and after 10 days of having it is regarding food... I’ve read about what I can/should be feeding it and what I shouldn’t... I’ve talked to a herpetologist and he has given me some feedback but still have questions...

I’ve noticed it doesn’t eat much though read they are big eaters... I’ve read about the importance of eating greens, specially dark greens like grass and weeds like dandelion, and even hay... but it seems not that attracted to grass or dandelion or other greens I’ve tried, however it does love to eat shredded pumpkin... I’ve even tried some flowers but it is not attracted at all, is that normal?

I was also told that feeding it with calcium and multivitamins is important so I’m buying some over the Internet at Amazon... any suggestions on this matter? I just want the best for her (I always call it a “her” though I know sex cannot be determined yet, but in Spanish, tortoise [tortuga] is a female word so I have the tendency of calling my baby “her”)...

Thanks in advance for any help... best regards, ALEJZP

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England