Hello from Coastal Southern California

Nicollet

Location (City and/or State)
Oceanside, CA
Hi, my name is Nicollet and I have a male russian tortoise named Qui-Gon (yes, like the Jedi Master). He has been through a lot in the past year - he was found by Animal Control, roaming the streets this past March (2016) in a suburban area, and ended up at the animal shelter I used to work at. I originally fostered him since the shelter was not set-up to care for a tortoise, but after a week no one had claimed him. All the local tortoise rescues were full, so I adopted him. I then leased him to an educational animal program where I was employed, because I thought it might be a good fit, but he kept escaping, and I was worried for his safety and welfare... so I brought him back home and built an outdoor enclosure for him. I am currently an exotic animal care technician (basically a zookeeper) at a different non-profit educational animal facility now - I take care of rescued snakes, birds, lizards, frogs, as well as desert and sulcata tortoises, and box turtles. I have a B.S. degree in Animal Behavior, and I love working with animals. I don't have a favorite species, and I am always looking to expand my knowledge (I'm a huge nerd). I also have a dog named Clare, and a cat name Kody at home - both have serious health issues that require a lot of my attention (I'm a sucker for needy animals!). I'm married, and we currently live about six miles from the ocean in San Diego County!