Hello From a Prospective Tortoise Owner

Gaby

Hi everyone! My name is Gaby and I live in Northern Virginia. I've been seriously contemplating the idea of adding a tortoise to my family for a few months (although I've been a turtle/tortoise lover for my entire life). I don't want to jump into tortoise ownership completely unprepared, so I was thrilled to find this forum and hope that I can learn from all of you!

Outside of my yearning for a tortoise, I am a full-time law school student and I breed & show purebred dogs in AKC Conformation and Performance events. Growing up, it seems like I lived in a zoo. In addition to the typical dogs, cats, small mammals and horses, my family had many exotics over the years, including various snakes, chameleons, iguanas, various frogs, small birds and a blue and gold macaw.

After researching the various species of tortoises, I think I've settled on the Leopard tortoise. Although the Sulcatas are incredible, and I would absolutely LOVE to own one at some point down the road, I think a Leopard would be more manageable for me space-wise at the moment. I will definitely have many questions going forward about how to best care for my new addition. I'm hoping to find a breeder in the near future and finally get my tortoise!

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello,and Welcome:) One of my favo species. Please read Toms threads below in my post for raising a healthy, smooth leopard. The sulcata threads also apply.

bouaboua

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
San Jose CA
Hello and Welcome. Good to have you here. We love Leopard Tortoise.

Grandpa Turtle 144

5 Year Member
Hello Gaby welcome to the TFO from AZ . Leopard Torts are great . But leopards and dogs don't do well together . ImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1401774649.459096.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using TortForum

Levi the Leopard

IXOYE
10 Year Member!
Southern Oregon