Hello, desperate to learn soon to be tortoise owner!

Status
Not open for further replies.

latenthippie

5 Year Member
Hi guys, I am VERY new to this! Firstly I am from the UK (I know this makes a difference with certain aspects of advice and care) and secondly I do not yet own a tortoise, but will be acquiring one very soon.

Here is my back story. My sister in law's ex husband had the bright idea of buying a baby tortoise for their 5 year old son and of course, having little choice in the matter, limited disposable income and no clue how to care for it, my sister in law is struggling. I have stepped in and agreed to take ownership of the tortoise as I have plenty of room for a sizeable habitat, a keen interest in animals (I have several pets) and enough money and time to ensure she is well looked after for what i hope will be a long and happy life! I have been reading up on tortoise ownership and stumbled across this forum which seems to be really informative and helpful!

I hope I'll be able to learn from you guys and give my new tortoise the best life I can. many thanks and I look forward to meeting you all.

x

latenthippie

5 Year Member
Hi! I'm honestly not too sure what breed of tortoise she is yet, she was just given to my 5 year old nephew as a "present" and the only information was that she is female (this still isn't certain either!) I have just this moment been told that she'll be arriving at my house on sunday. I'll get some good pictures of her so you guys might be able to help me with identification. (I have a couple, but they are not the best quality.)

I'm sure |I'll have LOTS of questions in the coming weeks / months and look forward to getting to know you all better! :)

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi latenthippie:

Welcome to the Tortoise Forum!!

May we know your name?