Hello all!

TanktheTortoise3

Location (City and/or State)
Pennsylvania
Hello tortoise enthusiasts,
I am a beginner redfoot tortoise owner from the northeastern US. My redfoot’s name is Theo or Teddy and his is a baby that I have had for about 2 months. He has done very well since I got him and has eaten and drank everyday. I keep him in a 40 gallon tank and his temperatures range from about 70 degrees to 85 degrees throughout the day. His humidity stays between 65% and 75% each day as well. I just have a few questions.
1. Right now I use a Tekizoo Super Sun Reptile Lamp. I also just ordered a 60w ceramic heat emitter. I have read that bright basking lamps like mine should not be used and instead you should use fluorescent t8 tropical tube lights and CHEs, but I am not sure. If you could let me know what types of lights to use and maybe a brand as well that would be very helpful.
2. I feed Teddy mostly dark greens like dandelion, romaine lettuce, and collard greens, but I am wondering what else I should put in his diet. I have read that adults eat a lot of fruits, but is that different for babies? Also how much, if any, protein I should put in his diet. I have only fed him any food with protein once in mazuri tortoise pellets, but I am wondering if that is too much or not enough.
3. I noticed that whenever I watch him for long periods of time I realize that he frequently eats or tries to nibble on things that aren’t food. For example, a lot of times he nibbles at sticks, spagnum moss, or even his substrate. I am not too concerned about this, but just wondered if it is normal.
4. Lastly, I bought an Aloe Vera plant for his enclosure from Home Depot, but read sometimes they contain chemicals in them. I now grow my plants from non treated seeds, but wonder if I should no longer keep the store bought plant in his enclosure.

Thanks, Happy Redfoot Owner

ArmadilloPup

NE Oklahoma
Welcome! Obviously you have done research, your tort is lucky to have you!