Haven't gotten a brand new Sulcata to eat

GaretMac

Location (City and/or State)
Austin Texas
Hey all!
We brought home a yearling Sulcata Sunday. We had done all the research and committed to this species. I'm a former vet tech, paramedic, and Great Dane breeder, but this is a bit of uncharted territory. We have made fresh grass, hays, and sparingly veggies available to her, but have yet to see her eat more than a bite or two. She did have a bowel movement on me at the store Sunday before we brought her home but none since. We are soaking daily in warm water to assure hydration, no drinking even in the soak. She is in a 50 gallon long tank with a water dish, food on a flat surface, uvb and heat lamps and a hiding hut. Temp ranges from 75-95 from one end to the other. She is perky and active out of the terrarium but prefers a corner when in the tank. She also has daily access to our back yard that is fenced. Is this normal shyness and acclimation? We have bought pedialyte but have not added it to soak yet. She has not had any discharge. Any advice appreciated!
Garet

Last edited:

Lyn W

5 Year Member
UK
Hi and welcome.
Have you found the caresheet for sullies yet under Species Specific yet? That will tell you all about diet, temps, humidity and substrate etc.The Beginnner' Mistakes thread (link below) also has some great advice and the Enclosures thread is full of good ideas.
If you can post some pics of your enclosures and bulbs members can advise on any changes you can make - if any - to ensure your tort has a safe and comfortable home. They do take a little while to settle in as they don't like change, so it could just be a period of adjustment, but the big dog/s could be very scary for him too. Hope he settles in and starts to eat soon.

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
if your temperatures are good. Basking spot, warm side, cool side and overall then this is more than likely just a Readjustment period. what are your f