Growing food.. Fertilizer, soil, lights?! Oh my!

Equivix

Hi from Canada everyone!

So I've been creeping the forums on here for a while and finally decided to join! I'm currently in the process of setting up a new 5'x2'x1' indoor tortoise table for hatchling Hermanns, but the silicone is still setting so still in very early stages. And yes, I'm new to the tortoise hobby!

I'll be using a 60:40 top soil to play sand mix. One side of the enclosure will have a MVB during the day and CHE for nightime (both on thermostat), the rest of the enclosure will be lit during the day by fluorescents. Hides will be provided throughout.

I'm planning on planting the enclosure, but have a few troubleshooting questions for the experts out there ;)
I'm getting lots of mixed opinions from keepers and gardeners.. I was told that if I plant directly into the topsoil/sand substrate, the earth will be too rich and burn the roots out, especially cacti... Thoughts?

These plants will be bought from the local nursery, I'll wash out the roots but I don't really want to wait a year to to grow them out until the potential fertilizer dilutes.. Is planting them directly ok (if above question is moot).

I also travel a bit for work so was hoping to grow some seedling trays for the little guys to munch on while I go away for a few days (yes, they'll be checked in on). I ordered a tortoise seed mix to grow online from sulcatafoods :) It's impossible to find organic potting soil around here, so I'm planning to use the simplest one I can find, with some vermiculite and manure. Is it ok to grow in this and then plop the trays as is into the enclosure? If not, how does everyone else do it?! The indoor gardener guy also recommended I use organic fertilizer (http://www.dutchnutrientformula.com/organic/organic.html).. Is it safe?