Greek Ibera Runny nose

Status
Not open for further replies.

techiegrl

10 Year Member!
Hi Everyone,

Newbie here, I have a Greek Ibera male, he has a very slight runny nose, it is warm here I am in No Cal, temps at night have been about 60, should I take him to the vet? I dont want to panic but I know how quickly they get sick, recommendations from anyone out there?

Thanks,

Janet

Crazy1

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Inland Empire, CA
Janet, how old is your Ibera? Could he have just drank before you noticed his nose. Is he blowing bubbles? Can you explain more what you consider slight runny nose?

agiletorts

10 Year Member!
San Jose, CA
Based on the limited information that you gave us, I would say if he's still active, behave and eat regularly, then I wouldn't worry too much.

If you go to the vet, just make sure that you go to an experienced one as some of them rarely handle tortoise.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
techiegrl said:
I have a Greek Ibera male, he has a very slight runny nose, it is warm here I am in No Cal, temps at night have been about 60, should I take him to the vet?

It is my OPINION that we are too quick to jump to the conclusion that a slightly runny nose, or a few bubbles in the nostrils means the tortoise is sick. This is what I do and it works for me: If I see a runny nose or bubbles, I keep a close watch on the tortoise. If it is still eating and otherwise acting normal, I just leave it alone. No handling or bothering...just let it be a tortoise. If the mucous turns thick or changes color, or if the tortoise stops eating, THEN I take the tortoise to the vet or administer antibiotics. Nine times out of ten, the runny nose goes away on its own. Sometimes too much handling causes stress and stress shows itself (in one way) as a runny nose.

Yvonne

techiegrl

10 Year Member!
techiegrl said: