Gopher torts

Status
Not open for further replies.

voodoochild

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Tampa FL
I'm in Tampa and I regularly see gopher torts on the trails and sometimes crossing the street. Apparently it's illegal to even touch them. I was wondering if anybody knows how to setup a rescue. Do they even have them? They must, right? I called FWC but the guy wasn't very helpful. Just seems to me that not being able to breed them cant help the populations especially if it's habitat loss that is responsible for the decline in numbers.

GeoTerraTestudo

5 Year Member
Broomfield, Colorado
I used to live in Tampa, where I studied zoology at USF. I used to see lots of gopher tortoises, too - usually on the preserve, but sometimes in the neighborhoods, too.

The preserve I'm referring to is USF's Eco-Area, a large holding of land near the USF campus, where both research and teaching are conducted.

If you want to talk to someone about gopher tortoise conservation in the Tampa area, contact Professors Earl McCoy and Henry Mushinsky at USF:

http://biology.usf.edu/ib/faculty/emccoy/
http://biology.usf.edu/ib/faculty/hmushinsky/

They (or their grad students) can tell you about what programs are in place now, and may be able to advise you on conservation laws in Florida, too. That should be a good resource as you work out how to get involved.

shellysmom

10 Year Member!
I believe the fwc website says it is ok to pick them up to help them across the road in the direction they are heading, and that it is ok to take an injured one to a licensed wildlife rehab person. Otherwise, yes, you are really not supposed to touch or bother them in any way. The humane society of the united states has a gopher tortoise relocation program through their florida state office, but it's primarily for the animals that are in immediate danger from development projects, and the HSUS has special permits from the fwc to move them.