Garden Pond Outdoor Enclosure Idears???

Eric Phillips

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Ohio
Hello All! I recently found a 145 gallon garden pond in perfect condition free on craigslist. I plan to incorporate the pond in our outdoor enclosure next spring. So in the meantime, I thought I would try to get any advice, suggestions, or idears from those who may of put a garden pond in themselves. I have never done this before, so just a couple simple questions first.....I do plan to have gold fish, no Koi. Any suggestions? Type of pump or filter, etc.?

johnsonnboswell

5 Year Member
I put in a 60 gallon preformed pond in my garden. It is not in an area accessible to my russian tortoises or hermann's or box turtles because of the potential for drowning. Something to think about. I know others have use a false bottom to keep their animals safe, but then the pond doesn't support fish.

Grandpa Turtle 144

5 Year Member
Torts don't swim very good but if you can afford a lifeguard go ahead :)

Sent from my iPhone using TortForum

N2TORTS

5 Year Member
Very Nice ........neat idea and application. I will be looking forward to your posts! ....:)

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
That's also called the Skippy Filter. That's the same thing I've done for my 600 gallon snapper pond (cattle trough). Mine runs on a sump pump.

N2TORTS

5 Year Member