Galapagos

Status
Not open for further replies.

River14

5 Year Member
I was incredibly surprised to see two large Geochelone nigrens galapagoensis, I suspect juvenile 2-3year olds (giant Galapagos tortoises) for sale in a reptile shop here in Hong Kong. Not only those but two yearlings.

Apparently they have full documentation and come from the breeding facility there. I would never have thought that they would be selling them. I would never have thought it was allowed.

This is my first time to see them live and I was completely taken with them. Long necks and very typical outlook. When I rested the back of my hand against their heads they scratched and rubbed. Very very charming.

Im very surprised.

fuzzylogix

5 Year Member
there are a couple of people in California that breed and resell galops. you have to have the right permits and they are very expensive. they are amazing animals. i would be surprised to see them in a reptile shop though as well.

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
CA
yes I would be interested to know the price as well, there is a reason why they are often referred to as gentle giants. So tell us what where they going for, and do you know if the breeding facility is in your country?

im461n3

5 Year Member
Aldabra giant tortoise? a few could be found on the china/hk black market each year.

River14

5 Year Member
No this is not the black market, this is mainstream reptile shop on reptile/fish main street Mong Kok! The large ones with carapace about 50cm long are going for 12 000 HK$ so divide (last I heard) by seven? So its about 1,2 US thingeys. The smaller ones hatchlings or what about 20cm long are going for ,6ooohk$ Seven into = about 800us$.