First tort! (Hermann's) Need some tips & reassurance!

Hrairoo

Location (City and/or State)
BC, Canada
Hullo!
I'm fairly new to the world of tortoises, but since I've had an excessive amount of spare time this past week or so, I've been doing a lot of research into getting and caring for a tortoise.
I'm planning on getting a hermann's tortoise hatchling from Slow 'N Steady Tortoises by 2017 hopefully. I'm currently at this stage where I am saving up just a bit more money (I'm a high school student, so I generally have little 'spending' money), and I'm also working on having a solid plan for my future little shelled friend's living area and such.

Here are the ideas I've had so far, and would really appreciate some input!

Food:

• Mixed greens (high fibre, low protein leafies)
  • Weeds (dandelion, plantain, grass?, clover...)
  • Mazuri tortoise chow (not as a staple when the tort is older, but definitely when younger. Have some on-hand at all times just in case)
  • Dried organic "herbs" when weeds don't grow (dandelion leaf; red clover; plantain leaf;)
  • Cuttlefish bone
  • 1 small fruit or veggie on tort's birthday (or would it be hatching-day?)
  • A vitamin powder perhaps, though I haven't done much research into that yet, I would really like some help with that.

Tortoise Table:
  • Note that this is only for the first year or less
  • Large plastic/rubber tote (as big horizontal-wise as I can find. Minimum 4 square feet.)
  • Humidity: about 60% (the baby must stay humid.)
  • Substrate: 3 inches of coconut coir, peat moss, organic top-soil. (I am able to easily find and afford these products in my isolated city. I would like to hear some input on what percentage each ingredient should be. Also thinking instead of having peat moss and organic topsoil, it be either of them with the coconut coir.)
  • Water: terracotta dish that is generally used beneath plant pots to collect water.
  • Feeding area: Solid, flat surface (ceramic, terracotta, brick...)