First time owner. Rate my setup?

JaydenTheTort

Location (City and/or State)
Pennsylvania
so Yesterday I got two Russian tortoises, I read up as much about them but it's my first time taking care of tortoises, just want to make sure they're happy. This is a temporary set up there's two of them but the other isnt visible in the picture
I believe they're both female but the store said both male, either way I know I need to get them separate living spaces soon.20201228_200945.jpg

Attachments

• 20201228_200945.jpg
    20201228_200945.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 5

method89

Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
Malverne, NY
1 adult Russian tortoise needs @4'x8' enclosure...

You got some work to do.

JaydenTheTort

Pennsylvania

queen koopa

Las Vegas Nevada
Thanks! I'm pretty young (as in I dont provide for myself yet) so I'll talk with my mom about getting the right equipment for them! Thanks!
If you can, return the glass terrarium. Tortoise are quite different than fish and lizards.... read the care sheets on the forum and try to do a open top tortoise table if they are adult. Sorry hun, but your tortoise are not happy.. they will not thrive together in that enclosure.

Maro2Bear

5 Year Member
Glenn Dale, Maryland, USA
Thanks! I'm pretty young (as in I dont provide for myself yet) so I'll talk with my mom about getting the right equipment for them! Thanks!

Great. Just so you know, though, that aquarium is way too small for many reasons. It’s too small for one Russian, let alone two. Russians in pairs (like this in one small enclosure) is never a good idea. Torts & Russians in particular are very solitary & very aggressive to other torts entering their kingdom. You should look to replace your “hard to reach” (over priced) water dish with a plain old terracotta plant saucer (from the garden center in WalMart).

I’m not sure how you are providing heat at night?