Eastern box turtle...hates water?

newboxiemama

Location (City and/or State)
Issaquah WA
Hi everyone!

I am new to the box turtle community - I recently adopted a box turtle from someone that I met at work. They *think* that the turtle is about 10 years old but aren't certain. It does not sound like she has received very good care, but seems to be in pretty good shape. Slightly overgrown beak and nails, but besides that appears to be pretty healthy and happy. She was never provided with substrate that allowed her to dig...no protein in her diet...I've spent the past month getting her back on track -- she is such a character!

One question - she seems to ABSOLUTELY HATE WATER. So much. I can't figure it out.
She will happily dip her head in and drink from time to time, but she does NOT want to soak - she will not soak on her own in her bowl, and she will DEFINITELY NOT soak in her external tub. I have tried various temperatures, depths and approaches to bath time...she just starts flailing and kicking and does not calm down no matter how long I leave her in the water. She acts like I am trying to kill her! I'm hoping someone could give me some tips on how to handle this! I even put a camera on her tank to see if she was swimming in her bowl while I was away or asleep!!! Wondering if this is a big concern?

Thank you so much for the help!

PJay

5 Year Member
Virginia
Soaking in water could be new to her or she just might not like it. Most of my box turtles like a good soak but I have a couple that never really seem to settle down and flail around the whole time. Soaking is very important for a captive box turtle to ensure they stay hydrated. Try covering the soaking container with a towel or a non airtight lid. That may allow her to feel more secure while in the water.

newboxiemama

Issaquah WA
Thank you so much for your reply!! I really appreciate it. I will give that a shot today and see how she responds :)

Moozillion

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club