Eastern Box Turtle Enclosure in Iowa

KaylaSmith

Location (City and/or State)
Southeast Iowa
Hello all!
I do not have an adorable Eastern just yet! I am wanting to own one however just want more information. I would like to get a hatchling to "bond" with and plan on keeping him/her indoors for the first year. However for next year I would love to have an outdoor enclosure. I would like to keep everything as natural as possible and all for hibernation. I have read that Eastern box turtles are native to Iowa-- we have such harsh winters so I was wondering how I can make my outdoor enclosure safe and comfortable to all the turtle to hibernate and go through the natural process safely?

ColleenT

Lehigh Valley Pa
i am new to this as well- but from what i understand, you need to make a deep hole for them to hibernate in. At least 3 feet deep, 3ft wide and 3 ft long. So a cube shaped hole, dug down. filled back up with peat moss, organic soil, and leaf litter mixed up. That way the ground is not too compacted and they are able to dig down as far as they need to.

I am going to be building my outdoor enclosure soon, and we plan to dig out a hibernaculum for the box turtles. I am putting up wooden sides that are 3 fet above ground bc i have terriers and I want my turtles to stay safe. We will place something( probably wood as well) a foot underground at the edges to prevent the turtles from digging their way out. Then i will plant some lover, some Hostas( slugs are drawn to Hostas and Box turtles love slugs), some other safe plants, and make some caves and and a nice soaking area.

mark1

5 Year Member
ohio