Does my tortoise appear healthy..?

Sajuro

Location (City and/or State)
Yelm Washington
Hello. My name is Sam and this is my boy, Hank. He is a russian Tortoise. I am not really sure how old he is but i’m guessing around 3-4? I recently adopted him, where he was only fed romain lettuce for about 2 years or so. He is my first tortoise. Sometimes he squeaks, but my vet is booked for month. I am also new to MBD and was wondering if he showed any signs? Thank you.

Pics are right after a soak :) He was never soaked in his old home. We are doing every other day, because his shell is not 100 percent smooth, and a bit rugged.

64BE488B-612B-4E30-9449-346A9CFA3B3C.jpeg5DD6EAA7-902C-4471-83BB-6C4076BD1499.jpeg200440F5-A983-4E14-B4AB-002F6CB14F62.jpegF65554F4-3F59-4FC0-89A8-5F43AE3F40C6.jpeg277AE7AD-3878-4E25-BF0E-11DE42F35DF7.jpeg 64BE488B-612B-4E30-9449-346A9CFA3B3C.jpeg

KarenSoCal

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Low desert 50 mi SE of Palm Springs CA
Hello, and welcome to the forum!

Do you know where Hank came from originally? Before the place where he only got romaine? His shell is not severely pyramided, and I don't think there is reason to expect MBD.

To me, it looks like he had a run in with a dog somewhere in the past.

I'll tag a member who's really good with things like this.

@Yvonne G

Maggie3fan

5 Year Member
PacificNorthWest
To me his carapace is rough looking and slightly bumpy, but most probably from a hard start to life.He doesn't look unhealthy. He's cute, read and follow the care sheet...

Yossarian

5 Year Member
Wales
To me his carapace is rough looking and slightly bumpy, but most probably from a hard start to life.He doesn't look unhealthy. He's cute, read and follow the care sheet...

I am under the impression from around here that the rough indented shells on most russians result from their hatching wild, as most russians apparently are wild caught. Formed fully just from what I have read though, so open to being corrected.