Desert Tortoise

Status
Not open for further replies.

SmileyKylie623

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Phoenix, Arizona
One of the many things I love about the great state of Arizona- the desert parts in particular- is the native wildlife. We've got everything from javelina to cougars to gila monsters. Of course my favorites are the illusive desert tortoises. Now, I am no expert and I do not know the offical names of this species because around here we just call them desert tortoises but nevertheless they are a well respected creature out here in the boonies. It's not too often that you see these guys hanging around but when you do it is absolutely amazing. I have the luck of living smack dab in the middle of the Sonoran desert in an undeveloped area with really nothing for miles and I have only encountered this species twice. My first encounter was about 2 years ago when I took the picture posted below. I was out by myself four wheeling about 5-10 miles away from my house. I found an old trail that looked a little rough but I went for it. And boy I am glad I did. That's when I saw this beautiful animal right off the side of the trail. Words cannot express how amazing it was to see my favorite animal, something I am so utterly obsessed with that I had the nerve to tattoo it onto my body, in it's natural environment. I quickly snapped this picture and went on my merry way only because I did not want to disturb this beautiful animal. My second encounter was with a much smaller tortoise who was in the middle of an often very busy road. I managed to get to the little one and move him off the road and into safety.
Anyways, I got excited when I found this old picture on my computer that I had almost completely forgotten about and I just thought I'd share with you fellow tortie lovers! :p

1028101504.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA