Desert Tortoise Eyes--Sick?

ninjatortoise1956

Hello all!

I am a first time desert tortoise owner and this is my first year of having one as a friend and pet, living in CA. We recently brought him out of hibernation about 5 days ago after about 11 weeks of hibernating. We fed him an apple the first day to give him energy and he eats a little bit of food every other day. However, he seems pretty lethargic overall and spends most of his time in his little hut we made for him. We give hims some bath soaks most days as well. Haven't seen him poo at all though...

I was wondering if his sluggishness is normal after coming out of hibernation or whether this might be a sign to bring him to a vet. His eyes look a little more red than I remember them to be before he went into hibernation. I have included some pictures of what they look like now and what they looked like over the summer. Any advice would be appreciated!

P.S. Please ignore the cabbage in the first picture. We don't feed him that anymore!

tortoise1.jpg tortoise2.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Gabriel Luna

Location (City and/or State)
Monterrey, Mexico
For me is normal, he mayben ina few days, can be active as in the summer. In my city, in the day is really hot, but at nights we can fell the cold, so maybe the tortoises needs more sleep

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
They should not be fed apple, and certainly not as the first thing after not eating for months... but that is not your issue.

Where and how was he hibernating and how did you bring him out of hibernation?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA