Desert Tortoise Brumation

CeciliaCornwall

Location (City and/or State)
Scottsdale, AZ
My last post may have been a bit too specific since I haven’t had any replies...can anyone shine some light on typical day and night temps that signal it’s time for brumation for desert tortoises? We moved our two into the garage when temps went below 50 at night, but bring them back out when it warms up a bit. Is this stressful for them? We wanted to shield them from the cold but it’s still going to be pretty warm in the day on occasion and don’t want them cooped up unnecessarily.

KarenSoCal

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Low desert 50 mi SE of Palm Springs CA
Hi!
I also have a DT, and live in low desert.

This will be my 3rd winter brumating Chug, so I'm no expert. Here are my thoughts on your question.

DT's use several signs to tell them when to brumate. They do use temps, but also use the angle of the sun and the length of the days. So I can't tell you what temp is just right.

I let Chug tell me. First, he'll slow way down on eating greens, and I'll offer less of them. At this same time I make sure to offer him dried grasses and hay, chopped into small pieces. When he is sleeping most of the time, I stop food completely.

It's important to note the day of his last meal, because he cannot stay asleep for at least 2 weeks after, or the food rots in his gut and will kill him during brumation.

You mentioned your garage, is that where your tort brumates? I can't use mine. It stays way too warm, has wild temp swings, and I don't want to expose Chug to fumes. Plus the concerns of mice and ants. So I brumate Chug in an operating refrigerator, as do several other members of the forum. That's another whole thread if you're interested.