Considering adopting my first Russian tort and would love some tips and suggestions!

EOMom

Hello everyone!

I'm so excited to have found this group! I'm a vet tech and a client recently brought in a pair of Russian tortoises and I absolutely fell in love with the gregarious, outgoing nature of this beautiful animal!! So I did quite a bit of research and the more I read, the more I fell in love and I really think my husband and I would make a wonderful forever home for a tortoise. I'm already a mommy to 8 parrots so I understand long term commitment. ;) A little bit about us: it's just my husband, myself, our birds, 2 macaws, 2 Congo African greys, a Solomon Island eclectus, a blue crowned conure an Indian ringneck and a Senegal, and our old girl Snickers, a nearly 15 year old husky. We don't have human children and never will. Our animals are our children and get treated as such...they are the center of our world.

So, living in Minnesota, obviously an outdoor habitat year-round is out of the question, but one of my questions is (contrary to popular belief) our summers here are very hot and extremely humid. Typically in the 90's with dew points easily in the upper 70's. I've read that the Russians come from the arid climates...would our summers be too humid for them to be outside for extended periods of time? Late spring and early fall when it is drier I'm sure would be perfect. Also, is there a concern about the temperature change from being outside during the day in the heat to coming inside to the A/C? I'm sorry if these seem like silly questions but this is all so new to me and I want to make sure that we do absolutely everything right.