Colonies?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Clawhammer

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Western NY- USA
I wanted to know something. Ultimatly I want Aldabras but I have no tort experience. I do however have a great deal of animal husbandry experience. So I bring an overall out look of humanly raised and bred animals to this young field of tort captive hearding. I see a few of you here on the forum are herdsman and many are pet owners. All of you have awesome ideas!!!! I'm personally looking more towards becoming a heardsman I will say. As stated in my Intro thread I've always wanted to do this just took me till 36yrs old to be established with time and opporitunity to set the ball in motion.

So, my currant questions are:

- Can Sulcata and Aldabra herds be mixed in the same pastures?
I guess, from what i've read so far (again no practical experience here) I worrie:
- Will the alfa males of each heard fight it out or would there be seperate heard orders in one colony style heard?

- Would cross breeding occur in a colony setting?

I ask because I can easily get a trio of Sulcatas that are very young. With this I can learn(starting now) the basics of habitat/needs and develop a sence of confidance in raising torts. But ultimatly I want Aldabras for my program. I know if I start raisin' the Sulcatas I wont part with 'em ever. So will they mix with my later plans. if not Id need to take into consideration how to effectivly manage two heards... LOL

Baoh

10 Year Member!
Florida
Given your greater/larger/longer-term plan, I would just get the Aldabras. You should not need a learning curve or practice herd with another species. The money you would spend on your trio could be put towards a baby Aldabra that fits with your ultimate goal.

To answer your three questions specifically-

They can be physically mixed. That may not be without its risks and/or concerns.