Cherry Head Tortoise doesnt seem to be doing good help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jonny97

5 Year Member
Hi Im new to owning a tortoise I have purchased my cherry head 5 days ago and he got shipped to me. Since receiving him he has ate lettuce which he loves I got him eating calcium on Saturday mixed with the lettuce he has ate blue berries and tomatoes and also cabbage at one point. Yesterday and the day before he ate a meal worm. But sine I got him he is very lazy doesn't seem to have much energy and doesn't open his eyes very much. Also today he wouldn't eat even lettuce which he hasn't turned down since I got him. I have a mister that was going off about every 3 hours cause I was having trouble keeping the humidity up about 75 so I added a fogger today and the humidity is at around 85 and I decreased the mister to every 6 hours for 20 seconds. One side of his enclosure has a basking light and a heating soil in plantation soil as substrate with a temp around 90 directly under the light id say around 95. Other side of the enclosure has coco husk and moss and also has his hide and a temp around 78. I have uvb coil lights on top of the enclosure. In the room is also a 400 watt metal Halide on a fish tank. Could any of this be the reason he is sluggish and also he doesn't eat or drink unless i put him next to the food or water. He has drank quite a bit of water today every time I put him next to it but hasn't taken any food. Can anyone with me with this and give me some insight on what I should do I would hate to lose the little guy. I have grown attached already in 5 short days.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA