Change of substrate

Status
Not open for further replies.

bextort

5 Year Member
Hi everyone,
I've had my Russian tort for 4 weeks now. When I first got her she was on sand and I kept her on sand for the first few weeks to try and help her settle.

Yesterday I swapped my substrate to coco coir which I didn't really know too much about before being advised on here to try it.

I bought it in a brick form and soaked in water for 30 minutes.
ImageUploadedByTortForum1378901970.052643.jpg

My tort is out most of the day and when I came to put her in last night she didn't seem too fussed and just fell asleep in a different spot to where she normally does but no fuss.

I've just come home from work now and she was asleep with her head right out resting on the floor but woke as I began to nosy. Within 5 minutes she has completely buried herself
ImageUploadedByTortForum1378902112.199823.jpg

I know I probably sound like a worry guts but I am new to this and we'll worry lol the coco coir is still quite noisy - will this affect her shell? Can she breath whilst buried? If she doesn't come up what do I do? I ask this because it may sound daft but she has her own little routine and I know she's gone off exploring right now but if she doesn't come up to eat/drink what should I do?

These may seem really daft questions but I am so scared of doing something wrong and just want what's best for her :)

Thanks, bex

The coco coir is quite moist, not noisy. That would be worrying wouldn't it lol

Last edited by a moderator:

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA