Can anyone tell me anything about this ?

L.A

This was found at the beach a couple of days ago and I was just wondering what kind of sea turtle it may be or what could have happened to it ??

10354152_1482835168600307_2194725870182841632_n.jpg 1601491_1482835158600308_8672182840181194184_n.jpg

M

Maggie Cummings

Welcome to the forum. I'm not experienced in sea turtles, but it kinda looks like it's shell was too small for it's body to me. Deformed somehow. Poor thing

Reactions: L.A
M

Maggie Cummings

Well, I was wrong. I got interested so I googled sea turtles and they are not like regular water turtles. They cannot ever pull back into their shell, so their shells always look too small for them. I sure saw some beautiful pictures tho. This one is 'maybe' a Kemp's ridley sea turtle. They are the most endangered.
You ought to google them, it was very interesting.

Last edited by a moderator:

bouaboua

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
San Jose CA
Sorry this become your first post. Welcome to the forum.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Looks like the turtle was hit by a boat propeller.

tortadise

10 Year Member!
Tropical South Texas
Looks like an olive Ridley. Kemps are rather small, and have a slough off at their 4-5 vertebral and get real flat. I'd say it's a male given it's size. Also depends where your at. So where would you be located at?

M

Maggie Cummings

Looks like an olive Ridley. Kemps are rather small, and have a slough off at their 4-5 vertebral and get real flat. I'd say it's a male given it's size. Also depends where your at. So where would you be located at?

I have decided that's the last ID I'm going to attempt. I am seriously no good at it...I couldn't even ID a box turtle...:) but I sure saw some beautiful photography researching this sea turtle...I said it was a Kemp, because it was so small.

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome