Can anyone help identify my tortoise please?

Status
Not open for further replies.

newtotortoises

5 Year Member
BB_Tortoise2.jpgHi everyone, I am a novice tortoise owner, having been given an adult tortoise about 6 months ago. I would like some advice on the best care for him (Big Boy - he is quite large and a great character), but as I am unsure of what type he is, can anyone first help me with this? I have attached his photo - think he might be a yellow foot??

Last edited by a moderator:

jackrat

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Hamburg,AR
newtotortoises said:
Hi everyone, I am a novice tortoise owner, having been given an adult tortoise about 6 months ago. I would like some advice on the best care for him (Big Boy - he is quite large and a great character), but as I am unsure of what type he is, can anyone first help me with this? I have attached his photo - think he might be a yellow foot??
From what I can see,he looks like a yellow foot.

egyptiandan

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
USA
Welcome to the forum :)

Your tortoise looks to be a Redfoot. :D

Danny

Itort

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Iowa
I agree with Dan. The prefrontal scales appear to be undivided whereas on a yellowfoot they would be. Also it appears to be a male (wasp shape shell).

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Newtotortoises:

226118owl8mzyfxs.gif

to the forum!!

Stephanie Logan

10 Year Member!
Colorado
Cool! You are the second Yellowfoot owner to join the forum! :D

Here is a thread with some info on keeping Yellowfoots: http://tortoiseforum.org/thread-13007.html

Ignore my "input", as it was wrong. But the other posts will be helpful. :cool:

Browse through the "Redfoot and Yellowfoot Friends" section of the forum, too. :)

Your Big Boy is a handsome fellow. Post some more photos, and some of his enclosure, and you are sure to provoke some thoughtful responses! ;)

newtotortoises

5 Year Member
jackrat said: