Can a sulcata defend itself from a racoon?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Biff Malibu

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Los Angeles
If so, about at what age?

If not, what protection from neighborhood scavengers can you provide for it?

AustinASU

5 Year Member
Pensacola, FL
Haha well I'd say a 50lb sulcutas could hold a good battle, they'll ram the raccoon pretty hard.

Eweezyfosheezy

5 Year Member
Peoria, Arizona
I would say as long as they couldnt pick up the tortoise then he would be fine. But I have no experience with raccoons.

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
Remember a raccoon is gonna appear at night, when the tortoise is sleeping and cause damage that way. In the wild there are very few fair fights.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
For one of my tortoises to have to defend itself from a raccoon, the raccoon would first have to defend itself from me and my dogs.

Hint- the raccoon will lose...

Arizona Sulcata

10 Year Member!
Mesa, AZ
Tom said:
For one of my tortoises to have to defend itself from a raccoon, the raccoon would first have to defend itself from me and my dogs.

Hint- the raccoon will lose...

My same situation exactly. Haha

Biff Malibu

5 Year Member
Los Angeles
Well my current dog would be of no help (fat chihuahua), and of course if I heard raccoons outside I would go out there to break it up (raccoons oddly make sounds like monkeys in my backyard sometimes).

But my concern is that when my hatchling gets to a certain age/size and goes to "full time outside", what would happen if a raccoon tried to mess with it at night and say - it didn't wake me up, or I was out that night - etc... etc...

I plan on keeping him inside at night for quite sometime, BUT when that day comes. Its adult enclosure would give it some protection too.