Can a Juvenile Yellow foot look identical to a Northern Red foot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bryan

10 Year Member!
I came across a pair of adult Yellow foots (I had no trouble identifying them at all even though I am very new to torts), and I was told that they were breeding and that they had a number of babies and that one was there. I then saw the baby and it had a very light yellow head, orange to more reddish leg scales (IMO it was the exact same color as the scales that I have seen on northern RF's, I have only seen 7 in person). The carapace was very dark and had defined patterns in the scutes (once again just like a RF). The person told me that she had no other torts, am I crazy in thinking that a runaway female Northern RF came into her yard and laid eggs? Or is my inexperience shining through? The 2 year old or so baby looked NOTHING like these http://market.kingsnake.com/detail.php?cat=50&de=643087 or http://market.kingsnake.com/detail.php?cat=50&de=679515

The head was lighter yellow and the leg scales weren't quite as red as this specimen http://market.kingsnake.com/detail.php?cat=50&de=692726

So am I crazy or what? ;)

lezsolt

5 Year Member
A picture of its head (its nose scales especially) would help a lot in identifying.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
You can't really go by the color. The head is what tells them apart.

Yvonne

Bryan

10 Year Member!
emysemys said:
You can't really go by the color. The head is what tells them apart.

Yvonne

Wow, so it could be a yellow foot then? Could either of you post a photo and describe the nose scales so that I can identify it in the field? I would like to take photos of it but it was going to be taken home away from the place where I was at yesterday. I'll try and go back sometime this week and take photos. If it is a yellow foot and they are indeed breeding, I'll see if she's willing to sell the pair.

Bryan