Calcium Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

VictoriaWB

5 Year Member
While handleing my hatchling this morning I noticed his shell felt a bit softer than before. I was told and read that he needs a bit more calcium in his diet . Due to conflicting info on the net I'm not sure whats the best to use. I only want whats best and will do what it takes.

My questions are :

What should I be giving him? How much should a hatchling ( about 3in ) get per week?

Besides his shell getting softer he seems fine. Poops look like they should and he's active. Clear eyes , very alert. I'm new to this so any and all help is welcome. Has a UVB light along with basking light. Goes out for 30 to 45 mins. 4 to 6 days a week (good weather this time of year). Has a humidity box and tortoise table (3' x 6') is misted a few times a day.He doesn't really like the mist. Eats bermuda grass, I try to sneek some hay in , broadleaf plaintain, dandelions and some clover.

If you have any tips on what I can add to his diet in order to get the best varity possible please let me know.

Jacob

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
California
Some Shells dont harden up that quick, My Little Guys is Getting complety hard hes about 5-6 months or so
But if you give your little guys either calcium from the pet store, phosphorous free
or cuttlebone, you can sprinkle that over there food 3 times a week or whenever you feel is neeeded!
make sure they get lots of natural sunlight or uv light rays from your bulb, because thier body cant digest
the calcium if theirs no natural sunlight or uvb

TortieLuver

5 Year Member
Arizona