1. Welcome! Are you interested in tortoises? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our community is the #1 place for tortoise keepers to talk online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your tortoise and enclosure, and discuss any tortoise topic with other tortoise keepers. Get started today!

Building My First Tortoise Table

Discussion in 'North American Tortoises (genus Gopherus)' started by rexosorous, Sep 24, 2019.

Help Support Tortoise Forums by donating:

1. rexosorous

rexosorous New Member

Location (City and/or State):
    Anaheim, CA
    hey guys, i'm completely new to tortoise keeping and i just got a baby calfornian desert tortoise (just under 2 inches in shell diameter). it's been living in a glass enclosure for the past 3 days and i've noticed that it constantly tries to walk into or climb up the glass walls. i think this might be a space issue (the tank is 10in x 20in). so i'm thinking of building my first tortoise table. i'm going to be placing this indoors because there are cats that live around the neighborhood and i'm scared they'll break in to any countermeasures i build in.

my main questions are:

1. how large should i make it?
    2. will the UVB lamp provide enough light to grow plants?
    3. will the heat lamp make it too hot to grow the plants?
    4. what seeds should i buy? ie. what plants are good to grow and be a healthy source of food for the tortoise?
    Cathie G likes this.
  2. Cathie G

Cathie G Well-Known Member

Lancaster
    (These ads do not appear for registered members.)