Breeding groups and advice moving forward

Status
Not open for further replies.

goodsmeagol

5 Year Member
Hello!
I have been caring for Russian for about 2 years.
I fell in love with torts very fast, and have down sized all my other collections to be able to add to my Russian brood.
I intend to breed them to offer certified CB in Ontario Canada where I have not been able to identify a single CB!

I now have:
2 males: 5"scl / 4.75"scl
2 females: 4"scl / 4.5"scl
1 female: 5.5"scl
1 female: 6.5"scl

All except the 5.5" has been through proper quarantine, and have had multiple vet visits to ensure healthy stools and such.

The 2 small females are together.
One male is with the bigger female
The other male and female are separate at the moment.

The 2 males, I believe to be ready to breed, as well as the 6" female.
At what size can I incorporate the 5.5" female to the breeding colony?
What size is an appropriate breeding size? I am in no rush, however an estimated time on the smaller females reaching breeding size would be appreciated too.

At what size can I put all the females with one of the males?
My final setup would ideally have the 2 males in their own cage, being placed with the female group during breeding season, alternating to increase changes of copulation.

Any advice is appreciated, any corrects to the above is appreciated.

Thanks

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Goodsmeagol:

(I'm sorry, I don't believe I've ever learned your name)

Well, if you want to be totally politically correct, you'd need to post good top, bottom and side pictures so Danny can identify the subspecies for you.

goodsmeagol

5 Year Member
emysemys said:
Hi Goodsmeagol:

(I'm sorry, I don't believe I've ever learned your name)

Well, if you want to be totally politically correct, you'd need to post good top, bottom and side pictures so Danny can identify the subspecies for you.

Its Drew :)