Best species of tortoise

donbv3

Hi
I'm thinking of getting a tortoise but unsure which would be the best breed to have in th UK. I'm very new to tortoises and reading as much as I can before I bring one home.

Thanks
Helen

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Helen:

I think it would be very helpful for you if you would go to our Species Specific section and read the different care sheets pinned at the top of each species section. Reading about how to care for them and what is required should help you make a decision as to what species to get.

spud's_mum

United Kingdom
Most Mediterranean are better suited to the uk. I myself have a hermanns.they are pretty torts full of personality. :)

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Best in what way? There are so many ways to answer that.

Lyn W

5 Year Member
UK
Hi Helen I am in the UK too and have a leopard more by fate than choice but wouldn't change him for the world now. Possibly not the easiest species for the UK climate. I hope you find the tort of your dreams soon and welcome

M

Maggie Cummings

My Bob is actually the best tortoise. But I would recommend a Hermanni for you. They have very sweet personalities, and are easy to care for. My Queenie is a real easy keeper. I like Hermanni's.
But I'm stuck with Bob....or stuck on.....

UF_uwEFPJd1_vgH4EHm_m9w5LtZEsEns9wwHBnhxWuc=s197-p-no

Gillian M

5 Year Member
Jordan
I believe a Russian tort would do well in the climate of the U.K.Whatever one you choose, I wish you the best of luck.

And of course....a very warm welcome to the forum!

donbv3