Belated Introduction

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kadaan

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Irvine, CA
I've been around for about a week now, and have asked many questions but haven't yet introduced myself, so here we go!

My name is David, 28, and have been living in Irvine, CA since Jan '08. I grew up in Hawaii where 'exotic' pet choices are quite limited. I graduated from college in '06 and got my first job in Reno, NV where I promptly drooled over all the amazing pets available. I ended up getting a Chilean Rose tarantula before I even got furniture for my apartment :). I also got a Roborovski Hamster (both illegal in Hawaii.) Mae (my tarantula) is still alive and well, but the hamster died after about a year (lifespan is only 2-3 years.) Along with Mae, I currently have 2 aquariums; a 20g long Betta+bottom feeder tank and a 5.5g Cherry Red Shrimp tank.

The main reason for me starting an introduction thread is to introduce you to Sherman, my ~3 month old Greek hatchling:

I got to meet Dean "TheTortoiseMan" (awesome guy) and pick out my hatchling from about a dozen he had available. Sherman had the lightest colored shell of the bunch, and when I picked him up he gave me those "yes, that's right, you want me!" eyes. He came home with me and is sleeping under some plants in his new home (hiding in the middle):

Dean has a great backyard enclosure with eight adults that roam freely, and 2 enclosures for hatchlings and yearlings. I also got to see his indoor enclosure for new hatchlings that just started eating or haven't even started yet, as well as his incubator with eggs scheduled to hatch soon.

Thanks for all the help, advice, and knowledge you've all shared with me that's led up to this point. Love you guys <3

Candy

10 Year Member!
Alhambra, CA