Beheading superworms before feeding?

Davidy

Location (City and/or State)
fort Worth, Texas
An employee at the pet store where I buy most of my turtle supplies informed me that I should always pinch the heads off superworms before I feed them to my box turtles so that the worms don't bite the turtles and cause internal injuries to their digestive systems. I've been doing that for several years now but this practice is kind of messy and grosses out my family members. I have never seen any other reference to this. For years before she told me this I had been feeding live superworms to my box turtle with no ill effects. Anyone have any experience with this?

Grandpa Turtle 144

5 Year Member
Hello and welcome to the TFO from AZ . I've heard that also . But I would rather raise my own in sects to know what they are being fed because you are what you eat . Most pet stores feed mealworms patatoes . I fed mine carrots , banana peels , brocly .

leigti

5 Year Member
southeast Washington
I have some super worms that I feed different types of vegetables too. I did get them for my Boxturtle specifically. I have also heard that you should not feed them because they can bite your turtle internally. I have not cut their heads off yet but I could try it. how long do they wiggle four, sorry that is gross but I think my turtle is attracted to their wiggling around more than anything else. I definitely don't want to hurt my box turtle, so I would be interested what other people have to say about this also.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
I've heard that before, but I really doubt it will harm the box turtles. If yours are anything like mine, they break apart the worms as they're eating them. I'm pretty sure the worms are dead as they go down the tubes.

Davidy

fort Worth, Texas