beginner hermann owner

Status
Not open for further replies.

austinSOLO

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
washington state
hey i am completely new to Hermann tortoises, i read the care sheet above, but it did not help me very much. i would like to know humidity level, size for enclosure, and basically the entire care on these tortoises except more in detail than the other one. thank you! :D

austinSOLO

5 Year Member
washington state
and not EVERYTHING because i know most of the care is the same as a russian i just want to know the basics

Terry Allan Hall

5 Year Member
The Republic O' Tejas
Humidity that's comfortable to you is about right for a Hermann's.

As for size of enclosure: inside, minimum of 6' (L) X 3' (W) X 2' (H) or thereabouts for a solitary tortoise (these are for an adult, but even if you have a baby, if you raise it right, it'll be an adult in a remarkably few years!).

Outside, make it as large as you can get away with...the fact that landscaping timbers come in 8' lengths is The Ancient Gods' way of telling us that a tortoise's outside enclosure should be in increments of 8'... :p

Solitary tortoise, 8' X 8' X 2' is a good minimum. Two/three females or a trio/quartet, 16' X 8' X 2' is about the minimum. You really can't make an outside enclosure too large to suit your pet, particularily if you have a male...they tend to wander around a lot, and the larger the enclosure, the more rocks to climb over, PVC pipes to climb through, ponds to soak in (never deeper than 2", though), bushes to snooze under...you get the idea.