baby sulcata dog attack

XionandKingpin

Location (City and/or State)
Arizona
my sister left my tortoise outside with her dog and she attacked my sulcate tortoise named Toothpaste.
He was apparently upside down for a long time, and when I found him he was COVERED with mud and the top of his shell is dented/cracked a bit and I think some red flesh is coming out...every now and then I see a bit of blood oozing out and going back in. Toothpaste seems okay, he's just sleeping a lot. I'll see if I can put up a photo later. This is my first time dealing with a tortoise injury, any suggestions because right now I just have him covered in a clean rag...;-;

TechnoCheese

5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Lewisville, Texas
He is very likely not okay depending on the severity of the wound. For now, make sure you’ve cleaned the wound, and have the tortoise on paper towels.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Keep him warm and clean and yes, a vet visit is needed.
Then let your sister know that no matter what size your tortoise is, big or small and no matter the size or age or calmness of the dog, the two should never ever be left alone without 1000% uninterrupted supervision.
Good luck hope your tort makes it.

TammyJ

5 Year Member
Jamaica
If you have a tortoise and a dog, especially a small tortoise, and you leave them together all the time and the tortoise is always "perfectly OK", it's because the dog is waiting until he just feels like it.

XionandKingpin

Arizona
The top of the shell is probably the worst place to get damaged, tortoises lungs are located directly under the carapace and are covered with a membrane, the fact that the tortoise is bleeding means that their is a chance the teeth penetrated through. Personally I would go to a vet ASAP
thanks a lot for the help! gonna take your advice cuz he doesn't seem too awake rn

WIN_20190606_13_27_08_Pro.jpg WIN_20190606_13_27_19_Pro.jpg WIN_20190606_13_27_12_Pro.jpg

Ben02