Baby Desert Toroise

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mlunaavi

5 Year Member
Hello everyone this is my first time posting, and I just joined last night. I am feeling like a really crappy toroise parent right now and thought you guys would be able to help me faster than I can find it(although I've been reading most of the night and this morning through posts).

The reason for my post is that I "rescued" 3 baby toroises from a friend of a friend about 5 months ago and everything has been going great, but last night I discovered one of my bebes has a soft shell and I'm afraid it might be too late. They were all very very active up until about a month ago when the tempatures started dropping here so I figured they were going into hibernation. I have been waking them up to feed and sit in the water bowl and keep active since I had read it wasn't good to have them hibernate the first year since they don't have enough reserves. One of the 3 had not been eating as much as the others and was far less active but would still make his way to the hiding spot. When I picked him up last night I noticed that his shell was very soft and I was/am heartbroken thinking about him suffering. Some rescuer I turned out to be! :( I have 3 beardies that I have had for about 3 years now and I thought it wouldn't be TOO big if a challenge to take on these 3 tortoises since the orignal owner had them in a 5 gallon tank with no lighting and the substrate was loose sand that was always wet.

I have a UVB 5.0 bulb, and a heat lamp that keeps the temp around 91, the tank is a square tank about 3x3 ft. Substrate is carpet from Lowes(normally used for outside patios etc) and isn't strandy. I added some broken pieces of slate tile for climbing and excersize and the floor space is pretty large(for thier size) for roaming. Thier diet has been consistent of mustard greens/turnip greens, yellow and green squash, and an occasional tomato(don't know why but they ravage that stuff).