Are we hatching? Egg maintenance.

Status
Not open for further replies.

pinkspore

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Santa Barbara, CA
These were laid on 5/13 and have been incubated at the high end of 86-88 degrees. I've been glancing at them a couple of times a week and otherwise ignoring them. This egg looked fine earlier this week, now it looks like this:

Could it be hatching? Isn't it too soon?

Of the remaining three eggs, one looks normal, one has a big dent in the side:

And one looks furry.

The eggs are sitting in the same dirt in which they were laid, and there are a bunch of tiny bugs in there. Should I worry about replacing it or just leave it alone?

If the broken egg is hatching, do I need to worry about the hypothetical baby turtle getting enough air inside the cooler?

Is it obvious I've never done this before?

Vickie

5 Year Member
I hope someone can help you. Did you candle them to make sure they are fertile? Also, unsure about the bugs but can tell you I would be worried myself. A lot of bugs as other animals like to eat them.

Again, hope it turns out ok for you and someone can be of help.

Greg T

10 Year Member!
League City, TX
I don't now specifically about box turtle eggs, but based on what I've been going through with my leopard eggs, I think you may have a bad egg there. I doubt 30 days is enough time since it takes about 100 days for mine. Also, when mine hatch, the hard outer shell of the egg cracks and pops everywhere, so it look totally different than what I see on in your pictures. If it is alive then you should see it moving in and out because it will be a head or a leg. It is possible these are non-fertilized eggs.

I would go get some non-fertilized vermiculite (I use Sta-Green brand from Lowes) and replace the dirt. This will get rid of the bugs. Keep it real moist in there - high humidity is needed. Your temps are the same range I use.

pinkspore

5 Year Member
Santa Barbara, CA