Are my temperatures and humidity levels good ?

fergusaur

Location (City and/or State)
Delaware
I’ve read on this forum and other places that pouring a cup of water can help with humidity in the enclosure. I use a zoo med tortoise house (not the best I know) which has on open top with railing. After pouring the cup in my substrate and mixing it together, my humidity is now in the high 80’s and my overall temperature for my enclosure is high 70’s to low 80’s after pouring. My basking area cooled down a bit as well, but after moving my Mercury vapor bulb heating lamp (I know MVB aren’t recommend, I’m getting uvb strip lights very soon) the basking area is slowly getting back to its average temperature. The current temp of the basking area is 89 degrees with a humidity of 85%. Are my temperatures and humidity fine, and I’m just stressing because I’m a beginner to owning a tortoise, or should is my humidity too high?

Attachments

• 7BDBF53F-2DF0-44AF-B6B0-2025868AEF0E.jpeg
    7BDBF53F-2DF0-44AF-B6B0-2025868AEF0E.jpeg
    2.2 MB · Views: 4

fergusaur

Delaware
He’s yawned twice and I hear that’s a sign of a respiratory infection, but he’s only yawned since I poured he water in his substrate which was about 30 minutes ago.

Maro2Bear

5 Year Member
Glenn Dale, Maryland, USA
Greetings.

First off, what kind of tortoise do you have? It’s close to impossible to maintain proper humidity levels with a fully opened top like you have.

Lots of tortoises “yawn”. It really doesn't indicate the presence of a respiratory infection. Search on “tortoise and yawn” and you will find lots of threads & pix & videos. Pretty common really.

fergusaur

Delaware
Greetings.

First off, what kind of tortoise do you have? It’s close to impossible to maintain proper humidity levels with a fully opened top like you have.