Anyone got experience using Reptile Grass as substrate?

Status
Not open for further replies.

seanang168

10 Year Member!
I have been using Newspaper as substrate for the last ten years for my two stars. For a change, I bought 4 Paw Reptile carpet grass as new substrate for them. However after one night, the stars half over turned the carpet grass and hide underneath, a habit they developed when I used Newspaper.

The carpet grass appears to be always wet from their urine and furthermore it already starts to smell the next day.

I am concerned whether would this moisture be bad for the Stars? Also how often do you need to wash this carpet grass? I am thinking of washing it every 2 -3 days. Seemed like using this carpet grass requires more maintanance than using Newspaper (just need to throw away).

Is using carpet grass good for long term or should I revert back to Newspaper?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Seanang168:

Wow!! Ten years! You must be doing something right. Most stories about Star tortoises end by the tortoise dying before reaching ONE year! One of our forum members is having pretty good luck with his stars and even wrote a published article for Reptiles magazine. Go to his site and click on the link "Species Profile" to read the article.

http://www.turtletary.com/stars.html

I'm so glad to have you join us here on the forum! 10 years! I'm so proud of you. Let us see a picture of your tortoises. I'll bet they're beauties.

92856xrrwsi55l9.gif
to the forum!!!

seanang168

10 Year Member!
emysemys said:
Hi Seanang168:

Wow!! Ten years! You must be doing something right. Most stories about Star tortoises end by the tortoise dying before reaching ONE year! One of our forum members is having pretty good luck with his stars and even wrote a published article for Reptiles magazine. Go to his site and click on the link "Species Profile" to read the article.