An Amazing Snapping Turtle

Gabby and Tank at the vet2014.jpg Hello, I'm new to the site and saw you had some threads with regards to Chelydra serpentine - Common Snapping Turtles. I have a 36 pound male that I have been raising for the last 5 years. He came to us as a near hatchlings. Tank is a member of our family, he is the most docile and interactive turtle I have ever seen. Tank and I have a close relationship, hands on most of the time. I'm retired so I have plenty of time to interact with him. I've said on many occasions that Tank is more like a shelled dog then he is a snapping turtle. I've setup a website so more people can read his amazing story so if you get time I hope you will visit it. Tank can be found at tanktheturtle.com and on FB @ Tank Gilfillan. Gabby and Tank at the vet2014.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Sometimes, but he prefers leg massages and plastron scratches. He seems to like getting his head scrubbed with a tooth brush.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Welcome to the Forum!

747117wei24kafiu.gif

NicoleB26

5 Year Member
Rome, OH
Welcome! Snappers are fascinating turtles! Looking forward to more pics :)

joeyacad

Hello, I'm new to the site and saw you had some threads with regards to Chelydra serpentine - Common Snapping Turtles. I have a 36 pound male that I have been raising for the last 5 years. He came to us as a near hatchlings. Tank is a member of our family, he is the most docile and interactive turtle I have ever seen. Tank and I have a close relationship, hands on most of the time. I'm retired so I have plenty of time to interact with him. I've said on many occasions that Tank is more like a shelled dog then he is a snapping turtle. I've setup a website so more people can read his amazing story so if you get time I hope you will visit it. Tank can be found at tanktheturtle.com and on FB @ Tank Gilfillan. Gabby and Tank at the vet2014.jpg