Am I giving my tortoise the right nutrition?

zeewiciwan

Location (City and/or State)
Malta
Hi,
Can anyone help me please, I'm new to tortoise care. I have a hermann's tortoise, been with us for the past two months but been told he has about 6 years. I've been offering him different kinds of plants and veg but he was only eating lettuce. Someone told me that this is probably due to our very warm temperatures in summer. Lately I've noticed as well that skin around his nose is coming off.
Today I noticed he was retreating his head while walking or stopping flat and retreat, keeping his hind part lifted. I've seen him do this sometimes before he exerts his waste. Can tortoises become constipated? Also another piece of skin came off (nose area) while I was holding him on my lap. Do tortoises shed parts of their skin normally or is it because of lack of nutrients? I am at a loss of what else should I offer him, tried dandelion, clover, grapevine leaves, tomatoes, but all he seems to want is lettuce. I feel he's not getting the right nutrition.
Also he sleeps outside, in back yard. We do not have a lot of soil, but he doesn't sleep there either. He usually likes to go in the tool shed and sleep under some shelves or in a corner. I made a wooden box but he does not seem to like it. He is very responsive, active and curious and haven't seen any inactivity from him, not even today.

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
you are correct if he's only eating lettuce his diet is nutritionally lacking. lettuce is a low nutrient food and they need to eat around 25 pounds of it a day to get all the nutrients he needs, I doubt he's eating that much. They eat lettuce because they like the taste of it it's like candy to them. you'll have to keep on offering and trying different foods to get him to change his diet. should consist mainly of weeds. and yes tortoises do shed in pieces not whole like snakes do.

zeewiciwan

Malta