Almost too energetic

Status
Not open for further replies.

big_red_tortoise

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
South Florida
I am a newbie when it comes to tortoises, but I have had plenty of experience with other exotics. My baby redfoot is only about 3-4 months old and he is very energetic. I take him outside as much as I can. Recently I changed his bedding from rabbit pellets to terrarium "astroturf" stuff. I thought it would be easier and cheaper, but he recently was walking around and trying to climb the walls and flipped over. I righted him almost immediately but I am scared that he might have lasting damage from it. Will he be alright?

I think I am just going to put the rabbit pellets back in because I am scared that this will happen again when I am not here watching him.

elegans

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
I have babies flip over every day. Don't worry he/she will be fine, even if they are that way for an extended period of time. I am sure that it is stressful for them as they usually poop on themselves, but I have never lost an animal this way. If they are outdoors and flip over in full sun this could be a different matter, as they could cook in a short period of time. But this happens in the wild all the time and they right themselves. No one is out there looking after them. LOL I have noticed on VERY young babies that if it happens that it can cause their shell to flatten temporarily. No worries mate. Douglas Beard / Flora & Fauna

purpod

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Today is my birthday!
Ventura County, CA
Perhaps the pellets {not being a solid surface} made it difficult for him to actually climb..? Maybe you can make the walls more vertical to prevent the climbing..? I keep very little in my enclosure for King Tortie to be able to climb upon in a height tall enuf for him to flip over, for I, too, would worry like crazy, LOL.

Bestest wishes to you & your little guy ~
Purpod

RTfanatic

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member