Aldabra Behavior

marty4dive

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Vallejo, CA
:tort:Marty4diveHello, my name is Marty and I'm relatively new to tortoises; used to keep Monitor lizards, so no stranger to reptile care in general. I am the proud Papa of Fred, 20", 60 lb Sulcata;Wilma, 24" 80 lb Sulcata, Petunia, 13" 15lb Sulcata, and Toothless, 13", 20 lb Aldabra. Wilma and Toothless just arrived from Arizona flying Southwest on 8-16-13. Totally hassle-free picking them up from cargo at Sacramento Intl; in and out of the airport within 10 minutes, I'm totally serious. My question from all of you way more experienced keepers is this: do some breeds acclimate slowly to their new homes, while some breeds act like they're on vacation and eat, eat, eat, while taking in the new sights and sounds? I'm just looking for some peace of mind with the Aldabra, who is way more timid and tentative in her(his?) new environment. She's eating, just not with the gusto of the Sulcatas. Can anyone address this please? Thanks, Marty.

Attachments

• IMG_1191.jpg
    IMG_1191.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 273

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome:) mother answer is Yes. The Sullies are a more outgoing species then a lot of other ones. From what I have read on our own Aldabra breeder, Greg, the Aldabras are quite shy until older and the females much more then males. Give him/her some time. They just got into their new space. Btw, you are not housing different species together right? Also, you should keep your knew ones quarantined from your previous ones for 3-6 months.

Also, for being a newb to tortoises, you sure jumped in with both feet. :D

kanalomele

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
East Bay area