Advice for hermans outdoor pen in the uk

Status
Not open for further replies.

Trashytort

5 Year Member
I am going to be taking in a 27 year old hermans tortoise as a rescue. The lady he belonged to has dementia and can longer care for him.

I have a large garden so will initially accommodate him in the outdoor pen he arrives with, but I am looking to build a new enclosure which will give him as much as a near wild life as I can create. I have never kept any sort of tortoise as I am a dog person but I have always wanted a tortoise, so I want to get this right for him.

We don't have great weather in the uk so how do I provide an enclosure that is safe and will keep him happy in our weather?

I have no knowledge so everything is from scratch here. I have looked up some plants that they can eat and seen that it is good to provide different surfaces such as pebbles and bark for them. What else do I need to be thinking about when I plan this enclosure? I have had a look through this section but there are so many threads and I am finding it a bit confusing.

Kymiie

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Nottinghamshire, UK
Hello Trasytort.
Welcome to the forum!

I am also from the UK, Mansfield in Nottinghamshire!!

I have a 4 year old herman, named Crush!

Crush lives inside, but when summer comes he does go outside for pretty much all of the day,
Outside he has a rabbit run, quite big with a house at one end incase he would like shade!
(I would take a photo, but its waiting to be hosed down...has cobwebs etc)

xx

alfiethetortoise

10 Year Member!
England
Welcome to the forum.