Adjusting period: sleepy, doesn't eat

Status
Not open for further replies.

Raluca_Schachter

5 Year Member
Hello everyone! I've just got an adorable Russian from Petco, female, captive bred, about 5 inches long. I've seen her a couple of times before buying and she was always very active, eating and she'd always come to the glass to watch me when I talked to her! The moment I brought her home, all she wanted to do is hide, bury and sleep. I brought her home late afternoon, now it's morning and she didn't eat or drink anything...She stays on the patio roaming free through plants and pots, and during the night she sleeps in her tank in coconut fiber. I plan to let her live outside, bring her in the front yard too on the grass, where she'll have even more room to roam but now she'd just probably find another place to hide!
I know it takes about 3-4 days to adjust but since I'm new to this I really don't know if all this is normal..How long can they go with no food and water?
I live in Southern California, temperatures are in the 60s at night, 80-90 during the day, with 50-70% humidity. I know she's been active at the store but now she's just the opposite...Any suggestions?

Oh, and should I give her a preventive parasite treatment? Do I really need to go to the vet for that? I've seen some anti-parasitic treatments online but I'm not sure if it's safe to just try it on with no testing...? Like a routine treatment?
Thank you!!

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
A Land Far Away...